National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) 2019 Awards - All The Winners

It was glitz and glamour at the 18th edition of the National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) in Harare last night, where journalists, artists and filmmakers were honoured for their outstanding productions.

The event, graced by big names in the country’s arts industry, also paid tribute to departed artists, among them multi-award winners; writer Charles Mungoshi and national hero Oliver Mutukudzi, who died early this year.

ZBC reporter, Patience Nyagato won the Outstanding Journalist Television Award, while Fred Zindi scooped the Outstanding Journalist Award for Print Media.

In the music category, Mai Patai won the People’s Choice Award while the Outstanding Female Musician award went to the Zadzisa hitmaker, Janet Manyowa.

Enzo Ishall’s Kanjiva was the Outstanding Song of the Year, while the Music Video of the Year is Dzamutsana by Vusa Hlatshwayo featuring Jah Prayzah.
National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) 2019 Awards - All The Winners
Mokomba won the Arts Personality of the Year Award, with Unplugged Zimbabwe being voted Outstanding Promoter in the Arts.

In television productions, the Outstanding Screen Production – Full-length Film award went to Cookoff by Thomas Brickhill, and KuChina the Genesis won in the Outstanding Screen Production – TV Series category.
Eddie Sandifolo and Qeqeshiwe Mntambo were the outstanding actor and actress respectively.

Other artists and productions honoured include:

The Watchmen and the Fence by Greg Shaw – Outstanding Mix Media Work.

Shelton Mubayi – Outstanding 3 Dimensional Work.

John Kotze – Outstanding 2 Dimensional Work for The Demolition.

Macintosh Jerahuni – Outstanding Choreographer.

Real Flex Dance Group – Outstanding Dance Group.

Martin Chabuka – Outstanding Male Dancer.

Vein Alfazima – Outstanding Female Dancer.

Lloyd Nyikadzino – Outstanding Director.

Ukama, Savanah Trust – Outstanding Theater Production.

ExQ was the biggest winner with two awards in the Outstanding Male Musician and Outstanding Album categories. Gospel singer Janet Mayowa and Enzo Ishall took home the Outstanding Female Musician and Outstanding Song gongs respectively.

The Outstanding Music Video award went to Jah Prayzah's 'Dzamutsana' produced by Vusa Hlatshayo. Music group Mokoomba triumphed in the Arts Personality Award category.

Other winners in different categories are Unplugged (Outstanding Promoter), Capitalk (Outstanding Online Media) and Fred Zindi (Outstanding Journalist).

No comments

Contact form


Email *

Message *